

Washington Office

File Code: 2320 Route To:

Forest

Service

Date: July 1, 2011

Subject: 2011 National Wilderness Awards Announcement

To: Regional Foresters, Station Directors, Area Director, IITF Director, Deputy Chiefs

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 National Wilderness Awards. These awards honor individuals and groups for excellence in wilderness stewardship. This national award encompasses education, traditional skills and minimum tools leadership, and overall wilderness stewardship. The 2011 National Wilderness Award recipients are:

Aldo Leopold Award for Overall Wilderness Stewardship Program

Stanislaus Wilderness Volunteers—The Stanislaus Wilderness Volunteer organization is being recognized for sponsoring two wilderness ranger interns to assist the Stanislaus wilderness crew with invasive species management in wilderness areas. The Stanislaus Volunteer organization started their own wilderness intern program, and increased the group's capacity to complete wilderness stewardship projects by 20 percent. The Stanislaus Volunteer organization is also a leader in wilderness and Leave No Trace education. The organization secured a grant from the Tides Foundation California Wilderness Grassroots Fund to co-sponsor a Leave No Trace Master Educator course in partnership with the Stanislaus National Forest and Yosemite National Park.

Bob Marshall Award for Individual Champion of Wilderness Stewardship

Deb Gale, Bitterroot National Forest—Deb is active in regional and national wilderness issues. She served as Co-chair for the Chief's Wilderness Advisory Group from 2005-2008, and has taken a leadership role on the Anaconda-Pintler, Frank Church, and Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness Management Teams. These three wilderness teams have complex coordination needs because they are managed by multiple National Forests, multiple Forest Service Regions, and multiple States. All three wilderness areas under Deb's leadership have significantly benefited from her passion and breadth of experience.

Bob Marshall Award for Group Champion of Wilderness Stewardship

Duchesne/*Roosevelt* **Ranger District, Ashley National Forest**—The Duchesne/Roosevelt Ranger District is recognized for wilderness stewardship for removing 13 high mountain lake dams. Their efforts led to re-establishing the hydrologic function and recovery of wilderness habitats. The project used minimum equipment and manpower to re-wild 13 natural lakes in three lake basins. The district worked with local, State, and Federal partners and cooperators to accomplish their outstanding work.

Bob Marshall Award for Group Champion of Wilderness Stewardship

WILD Foundation—The WILD Foundation has demonstrated dedication and active involvement in wilderness stewardship through active leadership in developing, managing, and publishing of the *International Journal of Wilderness*. The Foundation improved wilderness





stewardship through managing several updates and releases of the *Wilderness Management* textbook. The Foundation has an exceptional history working to perpetuate quality wilderness for present and future generations through continued leadership in the World Wilderness Congress. The WILD Foundation went the "extra mile" to preserve the wilderness resources at the 2009 World Wilderness Congress when they worked with Federal management agencies in the United States, Canada, and Mexico to develop and sign the North American Wilderness Conservation Memorandum of Understanding.

Wilderness Education Leadership Award

Internal Group Award: Juneau-Admiralty Wilderness Rangers—Tim Lydon, Barbara Lydon, Jon Horn, Kristin Stelck, Solan Jensen, and Sean Rielly are being recognized for their outstanding team approach in delivering an innovative wilderness stewardship program for the Tracy Arm-Fords Terror Wilderness. The team worked to build a multi-faceted program that emphasized partnerships and education. Their innovative work has helped build support for wilderness in the Juneau community and has become a national model.

Traditional Skills and Minimum Tool Leadership Award

The Hoosier Mule Team, Hoosier National Forest—Rod Fahl, Dave Morris, Stacy Duke, and Bruce Whittredge (retired), are recognized for their outstanding leadership and use of traditional tools and skills in wilderness. The mule team and crew worked to reroute a remote segment of the Martin Hollow Trail in the Charles C. Deam Wilderness on the Hoosier National Forest. The team faced difficulty locating a new trail corridor, finding a viable borrow source for fill material, extreme heat, and swarms of bees. Despite these obstacles, the mule team and crew successfully executed each phase of the project.

Excellence in Wilderness Stewardship Research Award (Co-sponsored by the International Journal of Wilderness)**Don McKenzie and Jeremy S. Littell, Pacific Wildlands Fire Sciences Lab and JISAO-CSES Climate Impact Group, University of Washington**—Don and Jeremy are recognized for their published work on the impacts of climate change on wilderness fire regimes. Their manuscript entitled *Climate Change and Wilderness Fire Regimes* is scheduled for publication in a 2011 edition of the *International Journal of Wilderness*. Their work explores the challenges of adapting to changing disturbance regimes while maintaining the integrity of wilderness areas in a warming world.

Excellence in Research Application Award

Tyson Cross, Willamette National Forest—Tyson is being recognized for his graduate research where he incorporated his experience as a Wilderness Ranger and his GIS mapping skills to create a practical solution to certain wilderness management issues. Tyson's *Rapid Assessment Campsite Inventory Mapping and Protocol Research* has far-reaching applications that are transferable to all Regions of the Forest Service.

Information regarding an awards ceremony to honor the award recipients will be provided at a later date. Your efforts to ensure their participation are greatly appreciated.

My congratulations to each of the 2011 National Wilderness Awards recipients.

/s/ James M. Peña (for) JOEL D. HOLTROP Deputy Chief, National Forest System

cc: Jeffrey Vail L'Tanga Watson Leanne M Marten