Are you using a screen reader? Click here to view the navigation links for this site as a bulleted list.

Partner logos: BLM, FWS, FS, NPS, University of Montana Logo
Connecting federal employees, scientists, educators, and the public with their wilderness heritage
Text size: A | A | A  [Print]

Chiricahua Wilderness

General Maps Contacts Area Management Wilderness Laws Images Volunteer

Applicable Wilderness Law(s)

Law Date Acreage Change (in acres)
Public Law 88-577 September 3, 1964 18,000
The Wilderness Act - Public law 88-577 (9/3/1964) To establish a National Wilderness Preservation System for the permanent good of the whole people, and for other purposes
This public law also includes the following wilderness area(s): Anaconda Pintler Wilderness, Ansel Adams Wilderness, Bob Marshall Wilderness, Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, Bridger Wilderness, Cabinet Mountains Wilderness, Caribou Wilderness, Cucamonga Wilderness, Diamond Peak Wilderness, Domeland Wilderness, Eagle Cap Wilderness, Galiuro Wilderness, Gates of the Mountains Wilderness, Gearhart Mountain Wilderness, Gila Wilderness, Glacier Peak Wilderness, Goat Rocks Wilderness, Great Gulf Wilderness, Hoover Wilderness, Jarbidge Wilderness, John Muir Wilderness, Kalmiopsis Wilderness, La Garita Wilderness, Linville Gorge Wilderness, Marble Mountain Wilderness, Maroon Bells-Snowmass Wilderness, Mazatzal Wilderness, Mokelumne Wilderness, Mount Adams Wilderness, Mount Hood Wilderness, Mount Washington Wilderness, Mount Zirkel Wilderness, Mountain Lakes Wilderness, North Absaroka Wilderness, Pecos Wilderness, Rawah Wilderness, San Gorgonio Wilderness, San Jacinto Wilderness, San Pedro Parks Wilderness, Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness, Shining Rock Wilderness, Sierra Ancha Wilderness, South Warner Wilderness, Strawberry Mountain Wilderness, Superstition Wilderness, Teton Wilderness, Thousand Lakes Wilderness, Three Sisters Wilderness, Washakie Wilderness, West Elk Wilderness, Wheeler Peak Wilderness, White Mountain Wilderness, Yolla Bolly-Middle Eel Wilderness.

download 88-577 or view special provisions or legislative history for this law.

Public Law 98-406 August 28, 1984 69,700
Arizona Wilderness Act of 1984 - Public Law 98-406 (8/28/1984) Arizona Wilderness Act of 1984
This public law also includes the following wilderness area(s): Apache Creek Wilderness, Aravaipa Canyon Wilderness, Bear Wallow Wilderness, Beaver Dam Mountains Wilderness, Castle Creek Wilderness, Cedar Bench Wilderness, Cottonwood Point Wilderness, Escudilla Wilderness, Fossil Springs Wilderness, Four Peaks Wilderness, Galiuro Wilderness, Grand Wash Cliffs Wilderness, Granite Mountain Wilderness, Hellsgate Wilderness, Juniper Mesa Wilderness, Kachina Peaks Wilderness, Kanab Creek Wilderness, Kendrick Mountain Wilderness, Mazatzal Wilderness, Miller Peak Wilderness, Mount Logan Wilderness, Mount Trumbull Wilderness, Mt. Wrightson Wilderness, Munds Mountain Wilderness, Paiute Wilderness, Pajarita Wilderness, Paria Canyon-Vermilion Cliffs Wilderness, Red Rock-Secret Mountain Wilderness, Rincon Mountain Wilderness, Saddle Mountain Wilderness, Salome Wilderness, Salt River Canyon Wilderness, Santa Teresa Wilderness, Strawberry Crater Wilderness, Superstition Wilderness, Sycamore Canyon Wilderness, West Clear Creek Wilderness, Wet Beaver Wilderness, Woodchute Wilderness.

download 98-406 or view special provisions or legislative history for this law.

Acreages reported above are legislated acres. Learn more about acreages.
Libraries: Wilderness Laws | Special Provisions | Legislative History

Give us your feedback