Are you using a screen reader? Click here to view the navigation links for this site as a bulleted list.

Partner logos: BLM, FWS, FS, NPS, University of Montana Logo
Connecting federal employees, scientists, educators, and the public with their wilderness heritage
Text size: A | A | A  [Print]

South San Juan Wilderness

General Maps Contacts Area Management Wilderness Laws Volunteer

Applicable Wilderness Law(s)

Law Date Acreage Change (in acres)
Public Law 96-560 December 22, 1980 130,000
Colorado Wilderness Act - Public Law 96-560 (12/22/1980) To designate certain National Forest System lands in the States of Colorado, South Dakota, Missouri, South Carolina, and Louisiana for inclusion in the National Wilderness Preservation System
This public law also includes the following wilderness area(s): Bell Mountain Wilderness, Black Elk Wilderness, Cache La Poudre Wilderness, Collegiate Peaks Wilderness, Comanche Peak Wilderness, Devils Backbone Wilderness, Hell Hole Bay Wilderness, Holy Cross Wilderness, Indian Peaks Wilderness, Kisatchie Hills Wilderness, La Garita Wilderness, Little Wambaw Swamp Wilderness, Lizard Head Wilderness, Lost Creek Wilderness, Maroon Bells-Snowmass Wilderness, Mount Evans Wilderness, Mount Massive Wilderness, Mount Sneffels Wilderness, Mount Zirkel Wilderness, Neota Wilderness, Never Summer Wilderness, Piney Creek Wilderness, Raggeds Wilderness, Rawah Wilderness, Rockpile Mountain Wilderness, Uncompahgre Wilderness, Wambaw Creek Wilderness, Wambaw Swamp Wilderness, Weminuche Wilderness, West Elk Wilderness.

download 96-560 or view special provisions or legislative history for this law.

Public Law 103-77 August 13, 1993 31,100
Colorado Wilderness Act of 1993 - Public Law 103-77 (8/13/1993) Colorado Wilderness Act of 1993
This public law also includes the following wilderness area(s): Buffalo Peaks Wilderness, Byers Peak Wilderness, Fossil Ridge Wilderness, Greenhorn Mountain Wilderness, Hunter-Fryingpan Wilderness, La Garita Wilderness, Lost Creek Wilderness, Mount Zirkel Wilderness, Never Summer Wilderness, Powderhorn Wilderness, Ptarmigan Peak Wilderness, Raggeds Wilderness, Sangre de Cristo Wilderness, Sarvis Creek Wilderness, Uncompahgre Wilderness, Vasquez Peak Wilderness, Weminuche Wilderness.

download 103-77 or view special provisions or legislative history for this law.

Acreages reported above are legislated acres. Learn more about acreages.
Libraries: Wilderness Laws | Special Provisions | Legislative History

Give us your feedback