Are you using a screen reader? Click here to view the navigation links for this site as a bulleted list.

Partner logos: BLM, FWS, FS, NPS, University of Montana Logo
Connecting federal employees, scientists, educators, and the public with their wilderness heritage
Text size: A | A | A  [Print]

Clackamas Wilderness

General Maps Contacts Area Management Wilderness Laws


The United States Congress designated the Clackamas Wilderness (map) in 2009 and it now has a total of 9,474 acres. All of this wilderness is located in Oregon and is managed by the Forest Service. The Clackamas Wilderness is bordered by the Roaring River Wilderness to the east.


The Clackamas Wilderness consists of five widely separated tracts of roadless land, scattered left and right of the Clackamas River for 50 miles. These pieces include Big Bottom, Clackamas Canyon, Memaloose Lake, Sisi Butte and South Fork Clackamas. With the largest trees in northwest Oregon, the Clackamas Wilderness protects clean drinking water for many Oregonians. A well-known hike in the Clackamas Wilderness is the trail to Memaloose Lake. It climbs through an old-growth forest 1.4 miles to the lake, and then continues a mile up to a viewpoint atop South Fork Mountain. The word memaloose means "dead" in Chinook jargon, the old Indian trade language of the Northwest. Now the lake's old-growth forest is a rare wilderness island in a sea of logged lands.

Planning to Visit the Clackamas Wilderness?

Leave No Trace

How to follow the seven standard Leave No Trace principles differs in different parts of the country (desert vs. Rocky Mountains). Click on any of the principles listed below to learn more about how they apply in the Clackamas Wilderness.
  1. Plan Ahead and Prepare
  2. Travel and Camp on Durable Surfaces
  3. Dispose of Waste Properly
  4. Leave What You Find
  5. Minimize Campfire Impacts
  6. Respect Wildlife
  7. Be Considerate of Other Visitors
For more information on Leave No Trace, Visit the Leave No Trace, Inc. website.

Give us your feedback